The Enclosures Act of 1857 identified four acres of land to the west of Ramsden, to be reserved for the recreation of the villagers and others from round about. So it was for many years, with cows and sheep grazing lazily beside the village cricket pitch, the epitome of rural England. Matters only came to a head when a cow belonging to a tenant injured itself on the barbed wire erected by the landowner which protected the hallowed square.
Around 1990, the field had fallen into almost complete disuse. Hay was no longer being taken from the field, which was thus growing wild, and the slide had been stolen. Questions were asked at the Annual Parish Meeting, and a new Committee was formed.
This group quickly realised that unless major steps were taken, such as getting drainage ditches to function as they should, no progress could be made and a great collective effort including communal hedge-trimming, was sustained over some years. The Committee met monthly and even now meets quarterly.
Today the emphasis is much more on maintenance and development than recovery, and the Playing Field now boasts swings, roundabout, slide, see-saw, and rather newer tunnels and "tarzan trail" - log walks and monkey bars. There are soccer goals on a ¾ size pitch, also used by fathers who still dream the dream. Funding is almost entirely independent and is driven by the efforts of the Committee, not least their occasional and highly successful Silent Auction.